31 Mar 2013

Maiden United - Mind The Acoustic Pieces (2010)

Mind The Acoustic Pieces (2010)
Maiden United

Maiden UniteD is the latest super band that choose to explore Iron Maiden song as their subject. The project  largely worked  by  duo Joey Bruers and Ruud Jolie, when they asked by Dutch Iron Maiden community to produce one more tribute for Iron Maiden. They re-interpreted the whole album of Piece of Mind and acoustically performed them. The instrumentation included full band of drum, bass and piano as well. Singer Anneke van Giersbergen and Damian Wilson of Threshold band join in as singer.

The project was done in high class manner. This is not your random, b-side project of Iron Maiden cover. Instead Maiden UniteD is a serious project that trying to recapture the spirit of Iron Maiden classic album. The opening Where Eagles Dares quickly set the mood and we enter the new world of Piece of Mind. I mostly interest with the less air time tracks such as Quest for Fire, Still Life, Sun and Steel, which is come with fresh arrangement. Especially female voice in Sun and Steel bring back memorable moment when Piece of Mind just being a hit in the market.

Fans of Iron Maiden will surely enjoy this project very much. The guitar performance are top notch backed by world class musician, such as member of Within Temptation. Maiden UniteD will later produced second album called Across the Seventh Sea, with these two release, Maiden fans eager to fill their time with quality cover will want to buy this one back to home. 5/5 rating.

Maiden United - Mind the Acoustic Pieces (2010)
buy it HERE at Amazon

1. Where Eagles Dare
2. The Trooper
3. Quest for Fire
4. Still Life
5. Revelations
6. Die With Your Boots On
7. Flight of Icarus
8. Sun and Steel **
9. To Tame a Land *

*  Duet with Anneke van Giersbergen
** Alternate version performed by Anneke van Giersbergen on the vinyl edition.

Maiden United musicians :
Damian Wilson (Threshold), Ruud Jolie (Within Temptation), Mike Coolen (Within Temptation), Perttu Kivilaakso (Apocalyptica), Joey Bruers (Up the Irons), Marco Kuypers (Cloudmachine), Anneke van Giersbergen (solo artist, Gathering / Devin Townsend)
Tour musicians:
Lee Moris (Paradise Lost, drum), Huub van Loon (Dearworld), Stef Broks (Texture), Luke Appleton (Iced Earth), Wudstik (Ayreon), Martijn Balsters (The Dust Connection)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...