31 Mar 2013

Maiden United - Across the Seventh Sea (2012)

Across The Seventh Sea (2012)
performed by Maiden UniteD

As previous album review mentioned, Maiden United is a super group specialized in Iron Maiden cover. They are consist of Within Temptation's Ruud Jolie and Marco Kuypers as starter but then join with other musician. The project happening when they were asked by Dutch Iron Maiden communities to come up with more Iron Maiden project. Instead of doing generic cover, Maiden UniteD cleverly choose the acoustic path and this were prove much successful than everybody's initial thought.

After the highly acclaimed Mind the Acoustic Piece, the second release titled Across the Seventh Sea come with a selection of nine Iron Maiden song. This time they were ranging from Paul Di'Anno and Clive Burr era up to The Seventh Son of the Seventh Son era. My favorite tracks happen to be Prowler, which is transcendental acoustic piece that changed the mood dramatically. The sad vocal bring new dimension to the song. Another beautiful re-arranged track are Children of the Damned and 22 Acacia Avenue. Two of lesser recorded (live) by Steve Harris and friends. They surely bring back nostalgic moments in Number of The Beast era. Then interesting to see Maiden UniteD choose Infinite Dreams as their selection on the thematic Seventh Son album. The ballad surely get new life in this re-interpretation. It's also a lesser known song which even rise more attention to me. Only The Good Die Young normally a good song which is also prove beautiful when transformed into acoustic setting.

As with their debut album, Across the Seventh Sea again met the expectation of both Iron Maiden and their respective Within Temptation fans. This is a good continuation from Mind the Acoustic Pieces. Avid fans of Iron Maiden will have a good fill in time when they are 'enough' with Bruce Dickinson and seeking alternate voice for their ears. 5/5 rating.

Across The Seventh Sea (2012)
buy it HERE at Amazon

( Seven Deadly Sins I )
1. Only The Good Die Young
2. 2 Minutes to Midnight
3. Prowler
4. Flash of the Blade
5. Children of the Damned
6. Infinite Dreams *
7. 22 Acacia Avenue
8. The Evil That Men Do *
9. Wasted Years
( Seven Deadly Sins II )

* featuring Perttu Kivilaakso
Vocals: Damian Wilson (Threshold/Ayreon/Headspace)
Guitar: Ruud Jolie (Within Temptation)
Bass: Joey Bruers (Up The Irons)
Piano: Marco Kuypers (Silkstone)
Drums: Mike Coolen (Within Temptation)
Guest cello on Across The Seventh Sea: Perttu Kivilaakso (Apocalyptica)
Guest singer on Mind The Acoustic Pieces: Anneke van Giersbergen (Agua de Annique)

Across the Seventh Sea beautiful cover album graphic design / artwork

Maiden United musicians :
Damian Wilson (Threshold), Ruud Jolie (Within Temptation), Mike Coolen (Within Temptation), Perttu Kivilaakso (Apocalyptica), Joey Bruers (Up the Irons), Marco Kuypers (Cloudmachine), Anneke van Giersbergen (solo artist, Gathering / Devin Townsend)
Tour musicians:
Lee Moris (Paradise Lost, drum), Huub van Loon (Dearworld), Stef Broks (Texture), Luke Appleton (Iced Earth), Wudstik (Ayreon), Martijn Balsters (The Dust Connection)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...